This Sh*t's Delicious

Exploring the world through cocktails, shit hole restaurants, and UrbanAg

New Project: A Cocktail-a-Day Keeps the Doctor Away

Cocktail-a-Day-0042June 02, 2013

Hello Internet. Today, I launch an ambitious personal project: I am going to make a cocktail a day for the next 365 days.

And blog about it.

I love making cocktails, and more importantly, consuming them. But life always gets in the way. There’s always some excuse in the way that prevents me from enjoying my passion.

After facing the epic tornado in OKC this past weekend on my storm chasing trip through the mid-West, I had an epiphany about doing things that are important. Although I love experiencing life, I am constantly distracted by so many other cool things that I forget to partake in activities that I enjoy the most.

There are many questions that my over-analytical right brain is throwing at me. What happens if I go traveling for 3 weeks? Do I pre-blog three weeks worth of cocktails? What happens if I miss a day? Does the counter re-set? Or do I count the number of cocktails made, i.e., 365, instead of the number of days? Should I be using the Adobe RGB or sRGB color space for my photos? Is this a joke? Will I be giving it up after a week?

I honestly don’t know. But I am going to launch ahead and figure out things along the way. My target is to spend no more than 1 hour a day making, photographing, editing, and writing about the drink. My inspirations are many, but my primary source is going to be the Food & Wine Cocktails ‘09 book that I picked up a couple of years ago. I have imbibed many a delicious cocktail from this holy manuscript (and also spent a lot of coin on alcohol) and look forward to going through the rest of the book.

Photography

Cocktail-a-Day-0044June 02, 2013In addition, I will be forced to practice my other passion – photography – which I have neglected for many years. I bought a simple light box online for less than 50 bucks during the last Boxing Day sale that I am finally going to get to put to use. I find a soft box is the best option as it evenly diffuses the light internally casting out any harsh shadows.

To be honest, I don’t have much experience with product photography, so it’s going to be a great learning experience. I have mainly dabbled in photography using natural lighting, so this is definitely out of my comfort zone.

For the interested, the kit comes with a translucent collapsible light box, two tungsten lamps (3200 K), and an assortment of lighting backgrounds. In order to get the lighting just right, I had to hang the second lamp from my inverted flower pot!

I am excited to further sharpen my studio photography skills – I am sure I will *absolutely need* to buy additional equipment along the way (like the Spyder4 or Light Sphere)

Cocktail-a-Day-0043June 02, 2013

Cocktail-a-Day-0045June 02, 2013

As a side note, for those interested in experimenting with product/studio photography, here’s a great article on a homebrew light box that you can make for less than 30 bucks and in under 20 min.

Thanks!

 

2 responses to “New Project: A Cocktail-a-Day Keeps the Doctor Away

  1. 300rwhp June 4, 2013 at 12:07

    i would suggest a different book perhaps Dale Degroff art of the cocktail

    • Kiran Somanchi June 4, 2013 at 17:57

      Hey yeah no doubt I will be picking up some books along the way. I am gonna start with what I have for now and build up.

      Have you used that book? Is that why you are recommending it?

Leave a Reply

