This Sh*t's Delicious

Exploring the world through cocktails, shit hole restaurants, and UrbanAg

A Cocktail-a-Day #3: L’amour en fuite

IMG_0327

Day 3! W00t! I can do this.

Had an epiphany today about this project. This is what it must feel like to have a dog or kid at home. Everything becomes about that thing. Whether it’s the kid or dog or in my case, a pet project, everything revolves around that thing. I plan my day around making sure I have enough time to blog. I have had to turn down opportunities to go out and have fun just because I knew I wouldn’t have time otherwise.

I am not sure I like it. I am used to having free time for myself to do whatsoever I please. Being a single guy (and an only child), I am not used to not having the flexibility to do what I want. In a weird way, now I know what it feels like to have a kid or in a long term relationship…all your attention and energy is focused on keeping that person happy.

Anyways, found a kick-ass cocktail today that contains pretty much all my favourite liqueurs and hard liquor. L’amour en fuite (French: Love on the Run) is a 1979 French film directed by François Truffaut. It is also a cocktail that mixologist Jamie Boudreau was inspired to create after sampling a bottle of St. Germain, a brand of French elderflower liqueur. It’s a pretty easy recipe to create, assuming you have all the below ingredients:

IMG_03571/4 oz. Absinthe

Ice

1-1/2 oz. gin, preferably Hendricks

3/4 oz. Little Blanc

1/4 oz. St. Germain elderflower liqueur

Rinse a chilled coupe with the Absinthe. I would recommend half of what the recipe calls for as I found 1/4 oz. just overpowered the cocktail. Plus, not really that big a fan of the star anise flavour in Absinthe.

Fill a  pint glass with ice and all the remaining ingredients. Stir well (not shake) and pour into the coupe.

Discussion

I just love the aromatic bouquet of this cocktail. You almost wanna eat it. It is amazing how well the Lillet and gin combine, although the latter does seem to add a dry finish to the drink. The elderflower liqueur ties everything together neatly while the absinthe hangs out in the background like a wet blanket providing a bitter offset to what would be an otherwise overly sweet drink.

Photography

It took me 2 hours from start to finish. Over time, I should be able to cut it down to an hour. This cocktail was a pain in the ass to photograph. Every few seconds I would have to dab the rim to absorb the “legs” that would creep down the inside of the rim. No matter how many times I dabbed, they would keep coming back. If anyone knows why or how to deal with it, please, let me know.

IMG_0332

On the plus side, I seem to be getting better at the photography aspect. I find the biggest time consumer is editing the photos. Adobe Lightroom is great but is a bit unwieldy, esp. if you haven’t used it often. And it comes nowhere close to Picasa when it comes to speed.

I also need more lights.

If anyone has tips and tricks to make the photo-editing aspect of food blogging easier, feel free to drop me a note!

Thanks! 

 

 

2 responses to “A Cocktail-a-Day #3: L’amour en fuite

  1. Janet Clarke Bell June 6, 2013 at 10:05

    Your cocktails sound amazing!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Kiran Somanchi June 6, 2013 at 22:42

      haha…they also taste pretty good! You should try some!

Leave a Reply

