This Sh*t's Delicious

Exploring the world through cocktails, shit hole restaurants, and UrbanAg

A Cocktail-a-Day #11: Whole Watermelon & Grand Marnier (alternative to vodka-watermelon)

A dear friend of mine recently graduated from the Masters in Education program at the University of Calgary and is having her grad party today. What better way to celebrate that than to get drunk?

As this is a special occasion, I wanted a special treat. I am sure many of you have heard of this concept of emptying a whole bottle of vodka into a watermelon before? If not, you are in for a treat. This has been done countless times, so I am not going to recreate the wheel. Here’s a great video that takes you through all the steps:

 

I bought a couple of mini watermelons for two reasons:

1. Not sure how many people were going to turn up

2. Wanted to try a couple of different combos than just the plain vodka-watermelon

IMG_0048I wanted to know which other spirits I could pair with watermelon. This led to me the uber-cool foodpairing.com website. You can search almost any ingredient and explore related ingredients you could pair it with. There’s a limited ‘lite’ version which gives you access to 100 ingredients and 25 beverages only. If you update to the pro version for 13$/month, that opens up the doors to 1000+ ingredients, 250 alcoholic beverages and other fun stuff. I think it would be a great tool if you are advanced amateur cook or pro chef, but otherwise I am not dishing out 13$/month. For the rest of us, there is a free option: http://www.ingredientpairings.com/?i=watermelon. I find it works just as well, but not as thorough or comprehensive and doesn’t break the results down into different categories. BUT, they have apps for Android and Apple, which is big plus.

It seems watermelon pairs really well with orange-based liqueurs and champagnes. I had both, but the orange flavour really appealed to be, so decided to go with the 200 mL bottle of Grande Marnier that’s been sitting on my counter for a while.

One thing to note though: it seems the mini melons have very limited capacity to absorb alcohol. Unlike in the video, I am still waiting for bottoms-up after 30 min. I am just going to leave it that for as long as it takes and then refrigerate for the party.

Will update tomorrow on how both melons tasted.

4 responses to “A Cocktail-a-Day #11: Whole Watermelon & Grand Marnier (alternative to vodka-watermelon)

  1. Janet Clarke Bell June 14, 2013 at 12:42

    Hi Kiran What is your favourite gin and where can I buy it in Calgary?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Kiran Somanchi June 14, 2013 at 15:06

      Hey Janet. The absolute favorite tends to be Hendricks. You can get it at any Coop Liquor store.

      Hendricks is special as, in addition to the usual botanicals, the distellery also adds in rose petals.

      I find this gin to be the most aromatic of them all. You won’t regret it.

  2. dishnthekitchen June 14, 2013 at 15:03

    SWEET! This is obviously a ‘fancy’ version of yuk a flux…I met my husband at a one of those parties in Uni. Those were the days!
    I’ll pass on the idea to my son who just graduated grade 12, you just never know what may happen!
    So, where exactly is this party?

    • Kiran Somanchi June 15, 2013 at 09:48

      That’s great! Hope he is 18 😉

      The party was at my place. It wasn’t anything big – just a bunch of friends. Btw, if your son is trying this out let him know to get a big melon. The mini melons do not have a lot of volume to absorb the alcohol. I think I was able to get in only maybe half a cup.

      Apparently you can insert a syringe and remove some watermelon juice but I didn’t have one.

      Let me know how it turns out for your son!

Leave a Reply

